https://dogbehavior.it/dogbehavior/issue/feed Dog behavior 2024-01-24T09:20:44+00:00 Angelo Gazzano info@dogbehavior.it Open Journal Systems «Dog behavior» is a four-monthly peer-reviewed international journal that focuses on all aspects of the behavior of dog and related canids, with a particular emphasis on clinical applications and research. https://dogbehavior.it/dogbehavior/article/view/169 The Canine Cognitive Dysfunction Syndrome: epidemiology, pathophysiology and diagnosis 2023-12-03T20:25:47+00:00 Luca Ciurli ciurli.luca96@gmail.com Lucia Casini lucia.casini@unipi.it Francesca Cecchi francesca.cecchi@unipi.it Paolo Baragli paolo.baragli@unipi.it Fabio Macchioni fabio.macchioni@unipi.it Maria Claudia Curadi mariaclaudia.curadi@unipi.it Valentina Gazzano valentina.gazzano@unipi.it Simona Capsoni simona.capsoni@sns.it Angelo Gazzano angelo.gazzano@unipi.it <p>Canine Cognitive Dysfunction Syndrome (CDS) represents a progressive neurodegenerative disease primarily studied in elderly dogs. CDS manifests various clinical signs within the behavioural realm, ranging from alterations in social interaction to disorientation and anxiety. This paper provides an in-depth exploration of CDS, encompassing its epidemiology, pathophysiology, and diagnosis. The diagnosis and management of CDS in ageing dogs present a significant challenge due to the wide array of nonspecific clinical symptoms and pathological signs associated with the condition. Recognising CDS as a neurobehavioral disease, where neurological signs and behavioural symptoms are intricately linked, is imperative, and early detection of cognitive impairment is crucial for successful treatment. Various screening questionnaires could play a pivotal role in objectively assessing cognitive decline, aiding in the identification and management of CDS. Further studies should investigate deeper the results of such tools, comparing the methods and reliability in both research and clinical environment.</p> 2024-01-24T00:00:00+00:00 Copyright (c) 2024 https://dogbehavior.it/dogbehavior/article/view/170 Comorbidities between behavioral problems and neurological disorders in an American Staffordshire Terrier 2023-12-18T21:15:32+00:00 Océane Richard oceanerchrd@gmail.com Emmanuel Gaultier egaultier.vet-comportementaliste@orange.fr <p>A 2-year-old male neutered mixed-breed dog, including American Staffordshire Terrier, was evaluated for human-directed aggression especially when there was a resource at stake. The patient also had difficulties managing his emotions and could become aggressive toward other dogs. The dog received a diagnosis of Hypersensitivity-Hyperactivity and communication trouble. The treatment plan included a pharmacological treatment with fluoxetine at 2.3mg/kg/day and the application of behavioral therapy aimed at reducing impulsivity and aggression while introducing predictability to the patient’s routine. This significantly improved the dog’s behavior. He became less aggressive, more friendly toward other dogs, and had better sleep patterns. However, he began to experience neurological issues such as ataxia and tiredness along to lumbar pain. The dog also started to exhibit worsening neurological problems, including progressive vision loss, which made him increasingly irritable. Despite introducing new exercises to help the owner address these various issues and the real appeasement of the patient, the dog severely bit again. With the behavior becoming more and more unpredictable, and the pain and cognitive problems worsening, the decision was made to euthanize the patient shortly thereafter.</p> 2024-01-24T00:00:00+00:00 Copyright (c) 2024