https://dogbehavior.it/dogbehavior/issue/feed Dog behavior 2023-01-10T14:08:47+00:00 Angelo Gazzano info@dogbehavior.it Open Journal Systems «Dog behavior» is a four-monthly peer-reviewed international journal that focuses on all aspects of the behavior of dog and related canids, with a particular emphasis on clinical applications and research. https://dogbehavior.it/dogbehavior/article/view/144 Assessment of a canine Hypersensitivity - Hyperactivity syndrome rating scale. 2022-05-15T21:33:45+00:00 Nathalie Marlois nmarlois@club-internet.fr Daniel Groux daniel.groux@posteo.net Catherine Mege cmege@wanadoo.fr Claude Béata cbeata@noos.fr Guillaume Sarcey guillaume.sarcey@orange.fr Nicolas Massal n.massal@orange.fr Sylvia Masson s.masson@hotmail.com Fabien Subtil Fabien.SUBTIL01@chu-lyon.fr Muriel Marion muriel.marion@free.fr <p>Rating scales have been used to evaluate Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD) in humans for many years, and ADHD rating scales modified for use in dogs, canis familiaris, have been validated and replicated. Still a canine ADHD syndrome has not been well-defined. &nbsp;To date, ADHD rating scales for dog have not been used to address the question of whether dogs with high scores demonstrate behavioural disorders.</p> <p>In the French model of Zoopsychiatry, Hypersensitivity-Hyperactivity (HSHA) syndrome in dogs has been clinically described, and can be considered a potential animal model of human ADHD, as well as a clinically defined canine version of ADHD. This prospective multicentric case study evaluated the usefulness of a translated version of one published ADHD rating scale in studying dogs with HSHA syndrome.</p> <p>Seventy-eight owners of 78 dogs exhibiting HSHA, diagnosed by veterinary behaviourists filled out a questionnaire. Seventy-eight questionnaires were also administered to owners of healthy dogs that were matched as closely as possible in terms of breed, age, and sex. Four scores were studied: total score, inattention score (IA), and two hyperactivity scores (HI1 and HI2). The accuracy of the different scales in distinguishing HSHA cases from healthy dogs was analysed by Receiver Operating Characteristic (ROC) curves and by calculating the Area Under the ROC Curve (AUC).</p> <p>The total score ranged from 15 to 46 with a mean of 29.36 in the HSHA group, and from 3 to 29 with a mean of 15.68 in the control group. The AUC for the total score was 0.955 (95% Confidence Interval 0.925-0.984).</p> <p>This scale had a very good ability to discriminate between dogs with HSHA and healthy matched controls. Determining an appropriate threshold score should help screen for HSHA syndrome in dogs and encourage behavioural consultation.</p> 2023-01-10T00:00:00+00:00 Copyright (c) 2023 https://dogbehavior.it/dogbehavior/article/view/146 A survey of the main behavioural and natatorial issues observed in non-genetically selected dog breeds trained for water rescue activities 2022-09-24T15:17:59+00:00 Francesca Cecchi francesca.cecchi@unipi.it Fabio Macchioni fabio.macchioni@unipi.it <p>In this survey, we collected information on non-genetically selected pure breed dogs trained for water rescue considering the issues highlighted by the instructors of the Italian School of Water Rescue Dogs (S.I.C.S.) in Italy over a one-year period. A questionnaire was developed and emailed to thirteen S.I.C.S. sections asking for information on the number of certificates and services carried out in one year, the pure breed dogs used, and the main problems detected in each breed. Only six questionnaires were received and processed. The results revealed that a total of 82 (14.0 as average value) dog-human dyads with certificates with a total number of 157 (26.17 as average value) services recorded in one summer All sections reported certified dogs from three genetically selected breeds (Newfoundland, Labrador, and Golden Retriever), mixed-breed dogs, and other pure-breed dogs, such as Bernese Mountain Dog, Doberman, Pitbull, German Shepherd, and American Staffordshire Terrier dogs. The main problems highlighted in non-genetically selected pure breed dogs were natatorial, linked to an incorrect set-up or to a lack of tail and/or undercoat. To solve these problems, neoprene underwear and/or floating harnesses were used, and the instructors tried to improve the swimming attitude.</p> 2023-01-10T00:00:00+00:00 Copyright (c) 2023